Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Dream Hammock Dangerbird
    Tarp
    Simply Light Desig
    Suspension
    Whoopie with Dutch

USA Made Hammock for a Very Big and Tall Guy... Reccos / Volunteers?

Hello all! As you can tell from the fact this is my first post, I'm a total hammock newb. A group of buddies and I do adventure camping every year, and this year we are doing mountain bike camping... so we all decided to make the switch to hammocks.

The rub for me is that I am 6'7" tall, 370 and have very wide shoulders, and only buy American Made products unless there literally is no other option. Oh, and I have horrible back pain from a spine fracture a few years ago.

The other thing I want is an integrated bug net. Living in the NE, the mosquitoes eat me alive so I know I will need one, and don't want to mess around with a separate item. And finally, ideally, the hammock has the ability to swap out the bug net for a cover, for winter camping. Naturally, we are talking double layer with my weight.

I've been reading and researching for about 3 weeks now, and have narrowed down the list of possible vendors/hammocks to the following:
    Hammeck Envy
    Dream Hammock Thunderbird
    Simply Light Designs Trail Lair
    Tree to Tree Switchback
    Warbonnet Blackbird XLC.

I've already emailed Hammeck to get their take/quote. Ideally also I would love for the outer layer and cover, if possible, to be camo material... and the inner layer to be some sort of blaze orange.

My questions:
    1. If the makers of the above read this, what say ye? Something you think you can make work for me?
    2. Did I miss any possible makers that make something like what I am looking for?
    3. What suspensions should I be looking at given my size?
    4. What am I missing? Remember, I have literally no hammock experience or knowledge outside of my 3 weeks of reading all I could find and watching Shug videos....

Thanks very much in advance for your help, suggestions and ideas!