Tarp
    DIY Hex Tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ and UQ
    Suspension
    DIY UCRs
    Images

Cold Weather Bugnet

Seems almost oxymoronic to put those words together like that. Anyways, the reason for this topic is talk about utilizing an item normally set aside for warmer climates, for use in cold weather climates. I have learned over the past few cold seasons that a bugnet can give a good balance of wind block and ventilation for for certain cold weather conditions in a hammock. It still allows some air movement but blocks the sharp, cold winds from whirling around in your hammock.
    While I always try to choose a location where the hammock will have the least amount of wind and angle the hammock into the wind, I have noticed that wind direction changes often and can be difficult to predict. So the bugnet seems to be very effective for me for keeping any wind from whirling around in my hammock.

Am I alone in my logic? I am still pretty new to hammock camping in the cold so my experience is still limited; I only have about 20 nights under my belt in temps below 40°F, but this is my experience with bugnets and cold winds so far.
    Thoughts?

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Up here in Minnesota I tend to expel a lot of moisture when I sleep and if I close the bugnet I get condensation for sure all over it. So I never use one in winter.
    That breath condensation also covers my TQ so I came up with what I call a Frost-Bib to catch it. Works well and I use it all winter on my cold hangs.
    Shug

Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG TQ,UQ, DIY
    Suspension
    Whoopies or rings
    Quote Originally Posted by XTrekker View Post