Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    WB BB

4 season tarp thoughts

This is a bit long winded so bear with me.
    Ok so I started hammocking last spring and have come to realize how much more I enjoy it then sleeping on the ground. Congrats to me for figuring out what so many others know. I decided that I would like to make a 4 season tarp with doors and am looking for criticism and thoughts from those more experienced.
    I hammock in a WB BB and it dawned on me that I get in and out from the same side every time due to the design and most of the space behind my hammock is wasted cover. Also I couldn't believe that the widest tarps I could find were only about 10'. I started playing with a few sizes and found that if I used a 12' width and offset the ridge line by about 6" then it would decrease the wasted space in the back and allow a roomy pitch. And with the RL about 5' off the deck I can cover all the way down in bad storms. I'm short (5'7") so that's just below my height and still comfortable enough. So that's the thought process.
    For the design, I like the great construction on my WB edge tarp so I thought that would be a good place to start. I'm planning on an 11' RL and the only way to accomplish a 12' width is to sow 3 wide instead of the standard 2 lengths of fabric. On the bottom ends of the tarp I figured I would go 9' between the tie outs to save some fabric. I plan on using silpoly due to the higher HH rating for the same weight as silnylon. So a general design looks like this:

IMG_0445.jpg

So my questions!
    1. With 3 panels I don't have a need to sow a RL. However, I'm concerned about the tinsel strength of the fabric and like how WB reinforces their RL with ribbon (grosgrain?). Thoughts?
    2. I was thinking of doing a tie out in the true center and another at the offset so I could have some flexibility. This could also mess up the doors so I'm not sure if that would work at all.