Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Left lay? Right lay?

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to hammocking, but I've now been on four trips to northern MN (in the BWCA), carrying only a hammock for my sleeping system, and I'm, well, in love. Can't imagine going back to the ground.

I'm currently sleeping in an ENO doublenest that I/we received for a wedding present. My wife, after our last trip, fought me for the hammock, so I ended up sleeping on the ground for one last time (I know, I said I'd never do it, but...well...). But now I've got a question....

....What if I/we don't want a designated left/right lay? The ENO works great for me...sometimes I go one way, sometimes the other. Depends how I feel, etc. I guess I'm wondering if in my "ambidextrous" state, if I should avoid those hammocks that force me to choose? I always lay on a diagonal, but it's not always the same direction. My wife appears to be the same. She's only been on one "hammock" trip, and she spent a few nights in it, laying both ways, and she also doesn't have a preference.

Carl

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    HGCub/Deluxe Spinn
    Insulation
    HGP/SSF/JRBHR/HGBu
    Suspension
    line/ring/strap
    I've a Warbonnet with foot box on the right, but I'll bet I spend half the time laying shoulders right/feet left, and it seems to work fine. I wouldn't worry...
    CMFSAT

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D
    Some gathered end hammocks can be used either left lay or right lay--with no adjustment--and some of them can be spun upside down and inside out, and then used for reversal of lay.
    Some hammocks are made for only one direction of lay.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hammock
    Dutch/SLD/WB/DIY
    Tarp
    DWG/HG/SLD/UGQ/DIY
    Insulation
    Loco Libre Gear
    Suspension
    Dutchware